top of page
Writer's pictureCrystal Russell

Fear Not For I Am With Thee

Updated: Jan 12, 2022

The world we live in today can be a very scary place. We are confronted with many problems and choices that may frighten us. Some of the problems we face are sky-rocketing crime, increasing drug use, a major rise in mental health issues, high suicide rates among our children, mask mandates, health choice pressures, disinformation, and media propaganda; along with the push to teach our children about critical race theory and sexuality (homosexuality, transgender, etc.) with classroom courses becoming more prevalent for younger students as early as the 1st grade.


With so many problems in our world today, some questions you might be asking yourself are: Do I take the vaccine or not? What if I lose my job by not taking the vaccine? Should I wear a mask? Should I force my child(ren) to wear a mask? Should I homeschool? Other questions you might ponder: How do I keep my family safe? How do I keep my children from using drugs or having suicidal thoughts? How do I keep my family in good mental health? But I would like you to ask yourself this question, are you overly fearful?


1 John 4:18 instructs us to live in love, not fear: “There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.” 2 Timothy 1:8 encourages us, “For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control." In John 14:27 Jesus tells us, “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” Isaiah 43:1 comforts us, “But now, this is what the LORD says— he who created you, Jacob, he who formed you, Israel: “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.”


When you make these decisions do you pray first? Do you read what the Word of God (the Bible) says? Are you living in fullness with the Holy Spirit? These can be difficult questions to answer while reflecting on your walk with God. Did you know that fear is demonically inspired and can cause us to stumble or hinder our walk with the Lord? Let's take a look at the Word of God to help us understand more.


James 1:5 says, “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him.” Philippians 4:6,7 tells us, “do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” In Psalm 119:105 it is stated, “Your word is lamp to my feet and a light to my path. ”Proverbs 4:5 instructs us, “Get wisdom, get understanding; do not forget my words or turn away from them.” In Romans 8:26 we read, “Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words.”


Now, this doesn’t mean we will never fear. Yet when fear comes, having read the Word of God, we will know how to react. Scripture says that fear doesn’t come from love and that love can cast out fear. l am going to give you a scenario to think about. A mother is camping with her son, the son is about two years old. The two-year-old is playing by the water while the mother is sitting on the shore. Suddenly, she sees a bear across the lake that is starting to swim over to them; she freezes, petrified in fear of what she will do? Even though she is scared, she runs to her son and picks him up because at that moment, love casts out her fear of that bear. Prayer should always be number one when dealing with fear. We are told that if we become fearful, we are to seek God. "I sought the Lord, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears" (Psalm 34:4).


Remember, strong fear can be a sign of spiritual warfare. In Matthew 10:28-31 Jesus says, "And do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul. Rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell. Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not therefore you are of more value the many Sparrows." You must trust and believe that God will help you through a difficult decision. “In whom ye also trusted, after that ye heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation: in whom also after that ye believed, ye were sealed with that Holy Spirit of promise, Which is the earnest of our inheritance until the redemption of the purchased possession, unto the praise of his glory” (Ephesians 1:13-14).


Joshua 1:9 affirms that God has commanded us to not be fearful by stating, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” So, any time you feel fear creeping in or become confused remember, “For God is not the author of confusion but of peace (1st Corinthians 4:13), and what the Lord promises in Isaiah 41:10, “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”


29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page